This website is a forum for political debate and the exchange of ideas. Unless indicated, the opinions expressed in any article, commentary, argument or review is solely that of the author and not necessarily that of the publisher.

 Home Page Reviews Ulster comment  Archives  International issues   Links   Conversation with Rabbi Schiller  FAQs   Open Forum  For Sale  Obituaries   Culture and Identity


West Belfast general election June 7th 2001 

Gerry Adams Sinn Féin


Alex Attwood Social Democratic and Labour Party 7754
David Kerr Ulster Third Way 116
John Lowry Workers' Party 736
Chris McGimpsey Ulster Unionist Party 2541
Eric Smyth Democratic Unionist Party 2641
Rainbow George Weiss Vote for Yourself Party 98

Court electoral area - local government election, June 7th 2001

Total valid poll 9752.  Spoiled votes 333.  Quota 1626.  Five seats.

Eric Smyth and Frank McCoubrey both passed the quota on the first count and were deemed elected.  Eric Smyth's surplus was redistributed for the second count.  David Kerr and Mick Conlon were eliminated and their second preferences were redistributed for the third count.  Chris McGimpsey passed the quota and was deemed elected.  McCoubrey's surplus was redistributed, but as no candidate reached the quota, Cobain was eliminated from the count.  This was quite a shock, as Fred Cobain was a sitting councillor and a prominent UUP Assemblyman.  Cobain's second preferences were redistributed for the fifth count.  McMillen and Smyth were deemed elected.  William Smith was not elected, despite a good fight.

Fred COBAIN Ulster Unionist Party 722 +42.51 +23.39
Mick CONLON Sinn Féin 269 +0.39 excluded
David KERR Ulster Third Way 28 +3.9 excluded
Frank McCOUBREY Independent (ex-Ulster Democratic Party) 1732 elected -------
Chris McGIMPSEY Ulster Unionist Party 1527 +85.9 +49.17 elected
Elaine McMILLEN Democratic Unionist Party 720 +681.33 +10.56
William SMITH Progressive Unionist Party 813 +48.75 +14
Eric SMYTH Democratic Unionist Party 2605 elected -------
Hugh SMYTH Progressive Unionist Party 1336 +114.66 +27.39
Cobain     Ulster Unionist Party




McMILLEN Democratic Unionist Party +26.96 +201


W. SMITH Progressive Unionist Party +17.92 +98 not elected
H. SMYTH Progressive Unionist Party +32 +264 elected

For results in other parts of the city and throughout Ulster, follow this link

Home Page


Copyright © 1990 - 2007 Third Way Publications. All rights reserved.